Taliesin Live - Cwmwl Tystion / Witness



Tomos Williams - trumpet

Huw Warren – piano

Rhodri Davies – harp, electronics

Francesca Simmons – violin, saw

Huw V Williams – bass

Mark O'Connor – drums

Simon Proffitt – live visuals

Trumpeter Tomos Williams has assembled a cast of brilliant Welsh musicians to perform a new work which reflects on the extraordinary times that we live in.

The band will perform a newly composed Suite incorporating elements of jazz, the avant-garde, improvisation and Welsh folk music. The name 'Cwmwl Tystion' is derived from a poem by the great Welsh poet Waldo Williams - the music 'bears witness' to these complex and difficult times.

This will be the first time Huw Warren (Quercus) and Rhodri Davies (Hen Ogledd), both leaders in their field and musicians of international reputation, perform together, while Mark O'Connor, Huw V Williams and Francesca Simmons all bring unique contributions to the project. Simon Proffitt will also be accompanying the performances with live visuals, interacting with the music in real time.

"A suite conjoining the political resonance of Tryweryn with the confident harp experimentalism of Rhodri Davies or the stubborn bitterness of the Blue Books with the lyrical flights of Huw Warren and Tomos Williams is simply necessary as democracy diminishes and politics demeans." Jon Gower


'The Cwmwl Tystion Suite' has been funded by Tŷ Cerdd, and the tour is made possible by generous Arts Council of Wales financial support.

Friday 28 June 7.30pm

Prices and Times:

Fri 28th Jun


Pricing Information:

Full price:£ 12
Under 18's:£ 10
Full time students:£ 10
Senr.Citizens:£ 10
Other Conc.:£ 10