Great Hall Music - Nicholas Daniel and the Haffner Ensemble


Nicholas Daniel and the Haffner Ensemble

Nicholas Daniel, Emma Feilding - oboes

Joy Farrall, Stephen Williams - clarinets

Andrew Webster, Sacha Rattle - basset horns

Sarah Burnett, Emma Harding - bassoons

Alex Wide, Kirsty Howe, David Bentley, Duncan Fuller - horns

Caroline Dearnley - cello

Chi-chi Nwanoku - double bass


Beethoven: Rondino in E flat major, WoO 25

Dvořák: Serenade op.44


Mozart: Serenade in B flat K361, Gran Partita


The Haffner Wind Ensemble is one of Britain’s leading chamber ensembles and one of the most established wind quintets in Britain. The breadth of their musical experience as individuals and their extensive work together creates freshness and vivacity of performance which excels not only in the classics of the wind repertoire but also in contemporary music.

The Haffner Wind Ensemble’s repertoire includes many standard classics as well as contemporary works. Their concert will include Mozart’s sublime Serenade No. 10 for Winds, the ‘Gran Partita’, as well as works by Beethoven; Rondino in E flat major, WoO 25 and Dvo˘rák: Serenade op.44.

Regularly heard on BBC Radio 3, Classic FM and touring extensively to major festivals throughout the UK and overseas including Cheltenham, Bath, Stockholm and the Proms, the ensemble enjoys an enviable reputation for juxtaposing the classic and the contemporary, for championing contemporary music, for outstanding musicianship and, above all, for its warm and engaging performances.

“Haffner Wind ensemble is as flexible of tone as it is of instrumental line-up” The Guardian

“A bravura display from Daniel” The Observer

“Nicholas Daniel, one of the greatest oboists of our time” The Herald

Unreserved seating

Saturday 10 February 7.30pm

Prices and Times:

Sat 10th Feb


Pricing Information:

Full price:£ 15
Under 18's:£ 5
Full time students:£ 12
Senr.Citizens:£ 12
Other Conc.:£ 12